X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• phase 3 purchase, no phase 3 power.

I just purchase a Grizzly G0450z 37" drum sander that comes with phase 3 power. What are my options for changing to 220v power? It has a 15hp motor. Got it at an estate sale for 900 bucks, so I have a little wiggle room with money.

Re: phase 3 purchase, no phase 3 power.

Without swapping the motor to a single phase unit, your only option would be some type of phase converter. The converter will run you some bucks as well as a motor. Although not as efficient and are not the best option, static converters are going to be the cheapest and basicly energize the third leg to start the motor and then drop out leaving it too the two 110v legs. You lose the power advantages of 3 phase, but it does work. My dad has been running one on his 7hp powermatic 10" table saw for close to 20 years.

Comment

I'm not an electrical expert. Something like this may do it for you.

Elimia Rotary Phase Converter 15 HP Panel Magnetic Starting Hinged Enclosure

Fuji FRN015E1S-2U : Frenic Multi-Series Inverter, 3-Phase, 230V, 15 HP, 47A Rated Current
      ~~

... it was plumbed by Ray Charles and his helper Stevie Wonder

Comment

if it starts under load you need a rotary converter that is started at least 15 seconds before the 3 phase motor starts, but a no load can use a three phase static converter,

a rotary converter is basically a larger motor than what you have to run that is started by static converter,
        and the rotation in the motor acts like a transformer and created the third phase, for a 15 HP motor one would probably need a 25 hp motor for the converter.

now there is a way of by passing the static converter by using a small single phase starter motor that is operated by a monetary switch, to gain rotation on the converter, there are plans on the net for details,