New Ridgid R4512 help needed on some "minor" issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Ridgid R4512 help needed on some "minor" issues

I just purchased a Ridgid R4512 new from home depot and it looks pretty nice. I am a hobby woodworker and this saw works well in my work area.

However, I am having some complications and honestly I would return/exchange the saw if it wasn't so heavy and I didn't have to drive out of town for a replacement etc.

1. A fence bolt (one of four for fence alignment) was received defective. The square nut was threaded on in a manner that it stripped the bolt smooth. It simply fell out before any adjustment and the rip fence is unusable since that forth bolt is required for it to stay square.

I tried to find a replacement nut and bolt and no luck and refuse to rig up a makeshift solution on a new saw. I contacted a nearby repair facility (still out of town) and they are "apparently" ordering one for me (their confirmation is lacking on the matter and I am still in the dark). I know these things happen but it has been a week now that I have been stuck at this step and cannot finalize. From what I can tell Ridgid will not send parts and this is the responsibility of the repair facility?

2. Adjusted the trunnions to align the blade to the miter slot and in all honesty that was a very frustrating task to say the least. I now have it within 0.001".

The one thing that bothers me is the blade sits crooked in the throat plate about 1/8" off front to back. I am probably being too particular but it mainly bothers me due to how close it is to the edge of the insert which I will be using for a little bit. I am not adjusting it again unless absolutely critical and I am not so sure I can shift the entire trunnion assembly over any further since one bolt is at the extreme end already. I will be putting a zero clearance insert on later if I keep the saw. Thoughts?