No announcement yet.

Thickness planer set up

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thickness planer set up

Well Santa was good to me this year. He left the Dewalt DW-734 under the tree.

A little cold here so i have not yet been able to plug her in and get her going as that garage is cold. It will not see any real use probably until spring, but i do want to make sure she works allright. The booklet claims that it is essentially set up and should require no adjustment! I have fallen for that one before. Anything to look out for on this thing before putting it to work?

thanks all

I have been sitting on my Ridgid 13" Planer for about 2 months now, and tonight just tuned her up. As advertised, it was fairly good right out of the box. But here is what I did have to do to align it up:

A) Align the infeed and outfeed tables. This was crucial to minimize the snipe. Minor adjustments were needed, but I recommend being as thorough as possible, or else you will find yourself doing it again. The directions in the manual should be specific.

B) Fine tuned the measuring tape on the planer. Make sure that you have a KNOWN height of board when sticking it in the planer, then running the planer down until it touches the board - then adjust the tape measurement to reflect the thickness of the board in the planer.

That was it! Planed multiple Oak boards with ease! Hope this helps.