X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BATTERY FAILURE ISSUES

I have the 4 piece 18V MAX 2 combo kit, as well as the 18V 3/8" cordless drill. As part of my rebate for the 4 piece combo, I got a third MAX 2 battery and jigsaw.

Anyways, 2 of 3 of the MAX 2 batteries refuse to charge on either the dual or single charger. The charger acts like no battery is present, i.e. the fan doesn't start, and the red light just styas solid. The same condition exists on 1 of two of the regular size 18V batteries. Leaving them on the charger for 24 hours straight changes nothing.

I am a contractor with 3 employees, so the drills and tools get a lot of use. I've only had the sets since mid-December, so no "hot" environments yet.

When I went to Home Depot with the first failed battery, they told me I had to bring the whole set back. Sure enough the warranty in the owners maual says the same thing. But, what a pain.

Does anyone have any "quick" fixes on resetting the batteries? Has anyone else experienced this problem? I'd appreciate some help if possible.

Thanks in advance,
    MHI

There is a 90 day return policy on Ridgid tools at HD. Take them back and get brand new ones (Ridgid or any other brand you want).
    Lorax
    "Did you put the yellow key in the switch?" TOD 01/09/06

Comment

Well, all turns out for the best. I owned the Ridgid 18V 4PC combo (with MAX HC batteries)and 18V 1/2" drill with regular batteries for 140 days. One Home Depot would not take them back, exchange them, or anything other than send me to Ridgid. However, the second Home Depot I checked with was "happy" to issue store credit.

So, I returned everything, including the "free" jigsaw and it's non-working battery to Home Depot. I then purchased the Dewalt XRP 6 piece set, and 1/2" drill, both with XRP batteries. I also bought the jobsite radio as a bonus for myself and to use up those pesky gift cards.