18v Hammer Drill

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 18v Hammer Drill

I purchased the Ridgid 18v hammer drill during the 20% off sale at HD before Christmas. I drilled a few holes and noticed that there was some wobble. I rechucked several times and continued to get the same wobble, I thought the bit could be bent so I checked several other bits.
    All the bits I checked wobbled so I placed them in my drill press and found them to be true.

I returned the drill to HD and they replaced it, no questions. I charged the new unit and checked it getting the same wobble and bit walking as with the first drill. Today I carried it back to HD with intentions of swapping for a Milwaukee but the salesman convinced me to try one more unit so as to keep my confidence in Ridgid.

I unpacked the new drill and chucked a bit that I know is true. The drill wobbles the same as the first 2. I am an experienced woodworker with many drills in my past and have never had this experience. The chuck does not turn true and the longer the bit used the more wobble. On hard surfaces the wobble is so severe that the bit walks dramatically.

I think that Ridgid has a major design flaw with these drills and want to know if anyone else has experienced this problem ?

pretty sad considering I have a very old 7.2 volt Makita that I've beaten up and killed a few batteries on that still has a good chuck.

Jake

Comment

woodworkerjake,
      Yeah, I have a 12 year old Dewalt that I can't seem to wear out. Maybe I should go to a dewalt hammerdrill. I also have a 14 year old 9.6v Hitachi that needs a battery but still runs very smooth

Comment

Originally posted by Kemosabee:
        I purchased the Ridgid 18v hammer drill during the 20% off sale at HD before Christmas. I drilled a few holes and noticed that there was some wobble. I rechucked several times and continued to get the same wobble, I thought the bit could be bent so I checked several other bits.