X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The new combo pack

I notice that Rigid has a new combo pack out for their new line of power tools, at Home Despot. The smaller combo has a 6.5" circular saw, a hammer drill and a flashlight. It's priced in my market for $379.

As I'm not a tool expert, it seems kinda funny to me that the so-called "combo pack" is priced like it is.

Why wouldn't I just buy the nicest and largest hammer drill and nicest and largest circular saw for $159 and $119 respectively (for a total cost of under $300)? I never intend to do any woodworking in the dark, so the flashlight isn't a big selling point for me. It's a purty light, very bright, but $80 worth of light? Um, "no". Can someone clue me in?

Just how important is "cordless" for a home user with access to a good power cord and a socket?

I am dreaming of some woodworking projects: a small raised deck, a custom roof, a stepstool. Given a general lack of knowledge and expertise, am I wasting my time getting quality tools? Or, will I bless every penny spent on them? Is it better to screw up a cheap tool?

Can you live with only a circular saw, or is a table saw mandatory?

Is that super sexy hammer drill with the "pulse" mode just too much for a guy doing four anchors in concrete? Will that drill make concrete as easy to drill as wood? Is it good for wood, too?

I know that these questions are pretty general and fairly ignorant, but that's what is on my mind.

Thank you for any responses!
    --<br />Farlo<br />Urban Fey Dragon, Eater of Cookies

The advantage of the flashlight is that it shares the same battery/charger setup as the other tools. That's about it.

Given your list of construction projects, a corded circular saw would do fine. Unless you are real anal about the stepstool (a thought that doesn't merit much parsing) you don't really need a tablesaw for anything on your list.