Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS3650 - Is it generally a solid saw

Hey all...

I realize I am in the house of ridgid, but I will ask anyway. [img]smile.gif[/img]

I am very interested in the TS3050. I just seen it at home depot, seems lke a great solid saw so my questions would be...

1) Can you purchase add-on' for the saw such as a new fence and rails?

2) If I decided to create a cabinet for this, would it work well as a cabinet saw?

3) Someone mentioned the miter guides on a different model being a different size than standard, is that the case with this saw too?

4) Someone mentioned that it may not have some things that other saws have... Not knowing much about table saws, what would those other things be and how important are they?

I am very new to this so please excuse me if I am asking what seems to be very dumb qestions. [img]smile.gif[/img]

Thanks
    Rick

[ 01-20-2004, 06:11 PM: Message edited by: m00n ]

Rick----welcome.

Answers:

1) Yes, pretty much any of the aftermarket fences can be made to fit the saw----but, let me suggest it is more economical to purchase the quality and size of fence you want from the start. Some other brands offer Biesemeyer or Unifence fences starting about about $50 to $100 more than this saw (noting that the cheapest Biesemeyer aftermarket fence is $270.

2) No, it wouldn't make it a cabinet saw by any means, as you'd still have the motor coming out of the rear of the saw. I have seen some very nice cabinets built as a substitute for the stand, but that won't make any contractors' saw a cabinet saw.

3) As far as I know, this new saw has continued with the same slots Ridgid always had, which are slightly smaller than Delta (which is the other standard size). It is not even an issue until you intend to replace the miter gauge or to add a tenoning jig---but it takes very little to get an aftermarket gauge to fit----Incras work very well.