X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RIDGID X2 18 volt drill

I purchased my 18 volt drill back in October of 2003 and had to return it in November for another because it started smoking and the trigger quit working. I just returned that one today for yet another because the battery started popping and smoking and then quit working. I don't like the drill at all. I am an Electrician in Sacramento and I don't even use the drill for any heavy drilling, yet they keep falling apart. I wish that I had stuck with DEWALT. In my opinon, RIDGID brand tools aren't worth the money or the time and hassle spent dealing with returning them.

Biggin,

Y dont you just go back to DeWalt if you are not happy?

Comment

I have an X-2 18v hammerdrill, I have been testing it in my basement shop for about 3 weeks.
      During this time I bought and returned a Milwaukee Lok-tor 624,and a Dewalt 18v 929 hammerdrill. I drive many 1 1/2 holes into some scrap 4 by 4 pressure treated pieces.
      I returned the Milwaukee because is overheated and the Dewalt because it made a grinding noise in 1ST gear and it couldnt make it thru one 4 by 4 without stalling.
      I had tried these drills because I heard complaints about X-2 chuck wobble. My chuck dosen't wobble.
      I found the Ridgid X-2 superior to the Milwaukee and the Dewalt. During my teats the battery remained cool,and the motor was only slightly warm during extreme use. My only minor complaint is the drills weight- 7.25 lbs, The weight forces me to hold the drill with 2 hands,and the added weight seems to make the tool more stable with large bits. I don't mind the added weight as long as it goes into solid construction.
      I am in the 90 day trial period and if I have problems-the drill goes back. I saw the batteries at Home Depot for 85 bucks. Its nice to know that the next batteries are free.
      Overall, I have found that this is a fine drill.

Comment