No announcement yet.

Low cost miter saws

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Low cost miter saws

I am new to woodworking but am trying to put together a little shop on a budget. I have been looking at the choices at H-D. Tomorrow morning they are going to have a unadvertised 1/3 off sale. I have been reviewing everything I can read and for the amount I have to spend have came up with these choices. I will list them and if and would like input from you that have alot more wisdom in this area than I do. I really want a 12" over the 10" but I have to stay in the $200 range. Here are the three choices.

Dewalt 10" Model 703 $199 before sale.
    Ridgid 10" Model MS1065 no laser $198 before sale.
    Ryobi 12" with laser $229 before sale.

My gut tells me the Dewalt is the best choice, but after reading reviews it seem the Ridgid is a good choice. I know Ryobi is not the best however I can get a 12" with laser for about the same amount.

I will be making picture frames and 45 degree angle cuts mainly. All the other stuff is down the road a bit.

Any Ideas?

Could you expound on this 1/3 off sale at all: all stores? all tools? Select tools? Select brands? Certain hours? Any info would be appreciated by the masses. As to your question, my money would bring home the DW.

The Ridgid you mentioned, is it the gray model? If so, it's clearanced at $99.00 now, so its probably cheaper than you think. They may just have the wrong price posted on it, as the newer model is 198 or 199.

I would go with the Ridgid. Warranty longer than a year, bigger dust port, holds zero better, and you get a great clamp that Dewalt wants $40 bucks for in the box.