Bandsaw advise

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bandsaw advise

Here is my problem. I am looking at getting as bandsaw, I am fairly new to woodworking and not sure how much I will need it. I do know I need it to resaw up to about 3" and cut a few gentle curve in 3/4" think material.
    I am looking at the Rigid, looking real good because of price and financing at HD, or the Grizzly. What I was wondering it worth the extra $100 to go from the 3/4 HP to the 1 HP Grizzly?
    Any advise would be appreciated.

Scott

I HAVE THE RIDGID SAW. FOR WHAT YOU PLAN ON CUTTING THE EXTRA POWER YOUR NOT GOING TO NOTICE.
    REMEMBER THE RIDGID NOW COMES WITH A LIFETIME WARRANTY. A REAL BONUS.
    BE VERY CAREFUL ABOUT THAT H.D FINANCING. YOU NEED TO MAKE SURE YOU PAY IT BEFORE THE DUE DATE (6-12 MONTHS). OTHERWISE THE FINANCING WILL BE APPROX. 20% FROM DAY 1. I SPEAK FROM EXPERIENCE. THE BILLING IS NOT STRAIGHT FOWARD. THE FRONT OF THE BILL WILL SHOW NOTHING DUE AT THIS TIME. THE LAST PAGE WILL SHOW SPECIAL FINANCING DEALS. THIS WILL BE DUE AND WILL NOT SHOW ON THE FRONT PAGE AT THE TOP, MOST OBVIOUS SPOT. WAS 3 DAYS LATE BEFORE I CAUGHT THIS. THEY WANTED $70. FOR THAT OVERSIGHT.
    THE AMAZING THING IS THAT THE SPECIAL SERVICES COUNTER ALONG WITH STORE MANAGER AND ASST. MGR. ALSO DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING DUE. THOUHT I OWED NOTHING TOO. I THEN PAYED OFF THE 7 OTHER SPECIAL FINANCING DEALS AND CANCELLED THE CARD. PS. THEY WAIVED THE $70.
    MORAL OF THE STORY IS TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE FREE FINANCING OFFER, BUT DON'T LET THEM TAKE ADVANTAGE OF YOU.

Comment

If you've narrowed your decision to choosing between the Grizz and the Ridgid take into consideration the what is important to you. On the Ridgid side you've got that lifetime service agreement with a fairly decent basic bandsaw.