X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid X2 Series Drill/Drivers

I'm new the forum so please forgive me if I post this in the wrong place. I'm still trying to learn how to navigate the site. I'm in the market for a new cordless drill and have been seriously considering the new Ridgid 18 volt X2 series cordless drill model 84015. Can any users of this forum give any first hand testimonials in favor(or even not in favor) of the drill. I'm trying to justify in my own mind that the extra cost of this drill over its competitors is worth it.
    Chris_Louisiana

I have the 14.4v X2, and fully endorse it. It is the best such tool I have ever owned, so far. Torque is more than adequate, as is battery life (I have not been able to outrun the two-bay charger yet).

I have no experience with the 18v.

The charger for the X2 doesn't get enough attention, IMO. This is a very sophisticated charger with excellent recharge and safeguards for batt life built in.

X2 drills are heavy, but not prohibitively so. If the main purpose was day-long overhead screw driving, you might want something more to that purpose. For GP this weight is a plus, again IMO.

And there's the lifetime warrantee... thumbs up for X2 all the way around.

Comment

Mark IV,
      I'm considering getting the 14.4 X2. I was wondering if you have any experience/opinion about the "regular" 14.4 (non X2)?

I don't use my drill for my job. My Prter Cable 14.4 Hammer Drill is in need of repair and the lifetime warranty is hard to pass up. Just not sure if I need the extra umph the X2 offers.

Comment

No, the X2 is my only experience so far. I wanted the 1/2" chuck.

I did pick up the 3/8" regular driver in the store, and it seems nice, but there are so many pluses to the X2 (carbide chuck, dual batts, etc.) that I didn't really consider it. However, I was looking for something at the heavier end of the scale.

Comment