Ridgid big disappointment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid big disappointment

I'm a construction plumber and decided I would give Ridgid a try and be different from the other guys buying dewalt kits.
    I've had my Ridgid 4 pc kit for about 4 months now and it's already falling to pieces.
    First the locking mechanism in my sawzaw broke and I was not able to pull the trigger for full speed. Then the drill selecter on the drill was stuck for some unknown reason, but recently decided to work, And now my charger goes out.
    The ridgid Cordless power tools are too heavy and cannot withstand the beating it claims it can through it's commercials. They may have a 2 yr warranty which is 1 year longer than Dewalts, but you have to argue with them and just maybe, you'll be able to use that warranty. The more Ridigid tools I buy the more disappointed I'm getting.
    I'm going to take in my charger and see what they say this time.
    I thought Ridgid was the best, but now seeing these power tools and their customer service for warranty, it's only hype. All the guys I work with have had their Dewalt kits for over 2 years now and they've outlasted my brand new Ridgid set. Ridgid really needs to make their next generation of power tools lighter.

Actually silent1, Ridgid has a 3 year warranty on their cordless kits. Maybe you just got a bad kit, I've had mine since Nov. and no problems at all. I'm an air conditioning mechanic and my 4 piece kit gets used every day. My drill survived a fal from an 8 foot ladder (no thanks to my helper) and the only thing that was damaged was the drill bit. I think maybe Ridgid made too many too fast and didnt take time to inspect them before shipping.

Comment

silent 1,

I hope you can get some warranty satisfaction with your tools. Its definantly frustrating to invest in tools only to find out they are not what you thought they would be.