best bit set for my tools?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best bit set for my tools?

Just bought the brushless 5 pc set from home depot. I am new to power tools ( never needed them). Whats the best bits to get for my drills, and best blades for the saws? Thanks in advance. Will be doing stuff around the house, wood working mainly and dry wall.

I would just go down to Home depot or other location, and buy a mid priced, blades and bits, I like dewalt reciprocating blades, bought some Irwin blades and they seem to be good, (it is what was available for me) but there are other brands, I like lenox hole saws, and they make IMO the best band saw blades, diablo has excellent circular,saw blades, milwaukee and lot of other brands that are good, nothing wrong with High priced product, but normally (IMO) not the best buy, for normal use, (a lot depends on how and what there used for),

some are better for some things and some are better for other,

I try for the best Value, not necessary the best tool,
    YOU buy that $200 dollar set of 29 piece drill bit set, and snap a bit, you will cry, you buy the $50 set, you go down and buy a replacement or two off the shelf, and go on with life,

if you choose to buy the low price sets, (they may do you fine, I bought a few sets of $14.00, 29 piece sets from HD for the Grandkids and keep one for myself, a few years ago at Christmas, they turned out to be reasonable good bits, for general use,

bits and blades are consumables, expect them to wear out and need to be replaced, drill bits can be sharpened, if you have the manual skill, or a "Drill doctor",

For cutting new drywall, score it with a utility knife ( I use stanley utility knives), and snap it, a reciprocating saw or a Hand drywall saw, if one needs to "saw it"

Last edited by BHD; 03-14-2019, 10:32 AM.
    Push sticks/blocks Save Fingers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good."