X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid power tools

I am a general contractor that has been in business for nearly 20 years, and have owned tools from all of the major tool companies. I have seen the new line of power tools, and must say I not impressed. The 18volt cordless drills are too heavy and tbulky to be used on a prolonged basis. The cordless saw has an awkward hand position and balance to it, and the carry bag is just as poor an idea now as when Milwaukee started using it a couple years ago. The corded spade handle drill feels cheap, the plastic handles feel like they could'nt make the trip out of the box before breaking. The corded sawzall is woefully under-powered and would have no chance versus a Porter-Cable or Milwaukee. In my opinion the majority of this tool line is over-priced and cannot be compared to the others in it's price range. As for the "LIFETIME WARRANTY", this is the biggest joke of all. So much is being written about this warranty that is only available for the next 2 months, that I have to comment. If you are a "DIY'er", than this is perfect for you. You will rarely use the tools in situations where they would get physically damaged, which is not warranteed. A professionals tools usually get damaged from hard use and hard falls, neither of which would be covered. In January 2004 will you still look at these Home Depot orange tools as quality ones, when they do'nt have this warranty? It's funny, this reminds me of the Sears Craftsman warranty on it's hand-tools. The Craftsman tools are great for the light user, they are well priced, unlike the Ridgid line, and carry a lifetime warranty, but how many professional mechanics do you think use them instead of true pro tools such as Snap-on or Mac? Do you think it's worth the time to exchange an inferior tool when the pro one probably would'nt have broken in the first place? Well like I said before, this will all be mute in 2 months anyway. Thanks