Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New R83001 14.4V Owner (My Thoughts on this tool)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New R83001 14.4V Owner (My Thoughts on this tool)

First I would like to say that I am not a Professional Contractor nor do I use my Powertools everyday so my needs were not as great as some of the others who have posted on this site.

But... when I do use my Cordless drills I use them extensively and for long periods of time.
    After using my new drill for a few days here are some of my opinions on this tool.

The size of the R83001 is great for my needs. The X2's seemed just too heavy for what I was mainly using my drill for.
    When I hang paneling I have the tool above my head alot so weight was the largest factor for my decision.
    The feel of this unit fits perfectly in my hands.
    Very well balanced to boot.

To tool I replaced the Ridgid with was a B&D 18v Firestorm I bought 1 1/2 years ago. When comparing the power the ridgid blew the B&D away. No comparison! On high speed I tried to stop the drill from turning and I was able to do that with no problems but when i did it on low speed I almost ripped my skin off of my hand!

I was thinking about getting the X2 version in the same 14.4v but I didn't like the added weight and bulkier size.

After going through about 3 charges of each battery the only thing I disliked about the R83001 14.4v was that the batteries didnt last as long as I hoped. I am comparing this to my Firestorm 18v and a older 12v Dewalt.
    I was mainly screwing 2" corse drywall screws into drywall and 2x4 studs so it wasnt like I was doing massive load heavy drilling (in which I will be doing soon through 18" of brick).

Has anyonelse had problems with battery life?

If the batteries are not lasting long enough after a few more days of drilling and screwing I might have to exchange it for the X2 version but didnt want to do that since I like the lighter version I have now.