Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car Charger for the 18V Batteries

Is a 12V dc Charger in the works yet?

I use a 12v power inverter, with a 6 outlet power strip. I have 3 chargers, though only one sees daily use, laptop computer and printer all operatiing on it. I think it's rated at 250 watts. I think you can but them for under $30 now. I've been using this setup for 4 years. Note that it will drain your battery if left on for more than several hours (overnight) without the engine running.
    This will get you through until they do make a car charger, and has many other uses. Mine will run a Bosch jigsaw, but only at low speeds. There are larger (750 watt) that will run that jigsaw great, plus about anything else.
    Ryan

Comment

Before doing this, take a close look at the power drain of the charger. If it is stated in watts, double that figure. If it is stated in amps, take that number and multiply it by 240. The inverter you buy should have no less capacity than the result of either calculation.

If the inverter is worth more than about 100 watts, you should think carefully about running it from a cigarette lighter socket. Some are wired with only AWG16 wires, to 5A fuses; the most you are going to see is AWG12 wire with a 15 or 20A fuse. 250 watts at a nominal 12VDC is more than 20 amps.

Comment

So it has an imput of 240W, and an output of 4.1 amps. so do you need a 480+W inverter or a 984+w inverter?

Comment