X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new tool guy

Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to the tool game. I'm so new infact I don't even have any tools yet. I want to know from everyone, no BS (BullSh#$)involved...what should I buy? What is the best our there for combo kits and individual power tools. Thanks for the help, I appreciate it. By the way I'm down here in Toronto Ontario Canada.

Thanks

I was about in the same boat as you for about a month or two. I decided I wanted to get a combo kit from any of the manufactures (Bosch, DeWalt, Ridgid, etc) for my new woodworking hobby. First got the DeWalt kit, but the safety switch on the circular saw wasn't to my liking, it's sometimes difficult to engage and had problems switching the speed on the drill. Returned the DeWalt kit and was contemplating on the Ridgid or the Bosch kit. Went with Bosch because of the reviews I have read and the positive scoring on Lowes' website. In addition, the kit came with a jig saw in addition to hammerdrill, circ and recip saw, and flashlight and I was able to get a good deal on the kit (about $400). As for the Ridgid, the lifetime warranty was what attracted me, but with the newness of the tools and the weight and usage, it did not agree with me. Also, Ridgid's drill has a two-handed chuck that I didn't like. I prefer the one-handed chuck design like bosch has. The quality of the bosch seems pretty good and am happy with my purchase.

To me, there really is no one "best" tool out there as everyone's taste and experiences are different. The best advice I got from a friend of mine is that if the tools don't feel right in your hand, you are more likely not to use it. Hopes this helps.

Comment