X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Miter Saw Blade

I'm a novice woodworker and am looking for either an 80T or 90T blade for crown molding and trim work on my compound miter saw.

I'm looking at Oldham, Freund, and Ridgid blades and would like to get some suggestions.

Thanks,
    Steve Scott

I get glass smooth results with the Freud LU85R010 80T blade. If you CMS is a 12"er then it would be a LU85R012.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Dave, what do you have a Freud catalog next to the keyboard?
      You always know the model number of a particular blade, amazing.
      I'm not complaining just curious how you know them so well.
      ---------------
      Light is faster than sound. That's why some people seem really bright until you hear them speak.
      ---------------
      “If I had my life to live over again, I'd be a plumber.” - Albert Einstein
      ---------
      "Its a table saw.... Do you know where your fingers are?"
      ---------
      sigpic http://www.helmetstohardhats.com/

Comment

Hi, my name is Dave and I'm a catalog junkie. Yes, I do have a Freud catalog within arms reach as well as a few more. Even the Internet hasn't been able to cure me of this terrible urge to feel paper in my hands.

Comment

Thanks for the info.

Comment

The "best" miter saw blade is likely from Forrest IMO, but any from the brands you mentioned should work well. Freud makes the Ridgid and is likely to be similar.

You'll likely want a blade with a low to negative hook angle. Many general purpose/crosscut blades have a more aggressive hook and can be more prone to grabbing the wood on a CMS. Freud makes the F80 that has 80 teeth with a HiATB grind for ultra clean cutting and a 2 degree hook. ~ $35 on Ebay...~$70 retail.