X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compressor Recommendation

I am new to woodworking and I have two pancake compressors right now (the Porter Cable that came with the Finish and Brad Nailers and a Craftsman Professional I got off of Craigslist for $70 that is 3 HP and 4 gallons [8 CFM @ 40psi on that one]).

My question is I would like to use a gravity feed sprayer for latex paint and finish work (polyurethane, stain, etc.) what kind of setup do you recommend? it seems like all the HVLP (High Volume Low Pressure) gravity feed guns require 8.5 CFM and I can't find a compressor that meets that. Even the big ones seem to top out at 7.5 or 8 CFM.

Is my higher CFM pancake compressor good enough for now? I don't want to spend $800 on a huge tank (don't have the room or need it) but would be interested in a small roll around like the Porter Cable C3151 or Ridgid OF45150 or Ridgid OL50135.

I spoke with a repair center person and they recommended staying away from Ridgid oil compressors. The oil-less are made by Cambell Hausfeld and easier to get replacement parts for.

Sorry for the long winded post but I figured I'd put out as much info as possible.

Pancake Compressors

Unless you are planning on running 3" nailers or multiple guns constantly at the same time, there is no need to spend the additional money. I have had a PC pancake for over a year, and it has never let me down. It depends on what you need now, and also what your future needs may be. If you just need to get from point A to point B on time and safely, a stock Chevy is fine. I your future needs include running Daytona, then you have a decission to make.
    Never use your thumb to check the sharpness of a spinning blade

Comment

As for the compressor SCFM, you seem to be keying on the SCFM at 90 PSI. It will be more at 40 PSI which should be all you need for the HVLP (High Volume Low Pressure).