X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying A Table Saw

I am considering buying either the RIGID &S2400 or JET JWTS-10 table saw. I am a novice on tabel saws and would appreciate any comments concerning which of these 2 table saws would be the best for the long run.

Kinda hard to compare apples and oranges. The TS 2400 is a portable job-site saw and you can't beat it if that is the style of saw you want. The Jet is a full size contractor style saw and should be compared to the TS3650. I have the 3650 and love it.
    Lorax
    "Did you put the yellow key in the switch?" TOD 01/09/06

Comment

The Ridgid TS2400LS is what is considered a jobsite type table saw. Because it's fairly lightweight, it's not that difficult to haul from place to place. The Jet JWTS-10 falls under the catagory of contractor style table saws. The name contractor is confusing because these saws tend to be heavy and you seldom see them being moved from one job to another.

As far as comparing these two saws goes, it would be like comparing apples and orages. Depending on what your particular requirements will be, both will have their good and bad points. Generally speaking, between these two styles of table saws and not necessarily these two particular models of saws, a contractor style saw will be better suited for woodworking while a jobsite style saw is better suited for carpentry work.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

If portability is a primary concern, go with the 2400. Most of the other advantages go to the Jet and that class of saw...table size, stability, long term reliability, runout, noise levels, etc.

Comment

Buying A Table Saw