X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Jig Saw

I'm contemplating upgrading my jig saw from the current Black&Decker to one of these corded jig saws:

Bosch 1584AVSK,
    Freud FJ85
    Ridgid R3120
    Dewalt DW331K

Based on some comments I recall from this and other forums the Bosch seems to enjoy the best reputation, but also the highest price. I don't know much about the Freud, but I'm really impressed with my Freud saw blades, and the price is attractive – so. Of course the Ridgid is in there because the several other Ridgid tools I have have been really good (TS2400, R3001 corded recip saw & the small shop vac). I like my Dewalt battery 9.6V drill/driver, so their top of the line saw is in the mix as well.

I'm a hobbyist, so this saw will see limited use and my income won't depend on it. Still I'm after a saw that will be comfortable to use (low vibration) and make it easier to cut close to the line.

So, having said all that, I'm looking for opinions (informed of course, as true of all the comments on this forum) about these saws. Particiluarly looking for opinions about the Freud, as I haven't heard anything about it that isn't advertising or posted by the company.

Thanks.
    Dick

Bosch, without question! The Progressor blades are the best going.
    When I was looking for a jigsaw, it was between the Bosch and Ridgid. At that time, Ridgid was made in Germany and the Bosch in USA. I see the Ridgid is now made in China and the price is a little lower now. They also changed the position of the variable speed dial. Bosch may be made in China now,but haven't looked since I bought mine (about 8 months ago).

Ron

Comment

Which ever saw you choose load it with Bosch blades, they will make any saw better. I have the older R3120 and it is an excellent saw

Comment