X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jointer problems(6101)

I am fairly new to woodworking, but have worked around wood in sawmills almost my whole work career.

I just got the 6101 jointer a couple of weeks ago after seeing and hearing alot of good reviews on it.

99% of my stock is old growth doug. fir from the mill i worked at.

for the life of me, i cannot adjust that thing to trim the 3/4" edge square??? I'm ending up either a 1/16 to a 1/32" heavy on one end or the other, depending on where i position the outfeed table.

the pieces i'm putting in are rough sawn, but square to begin with, and on the wide "face' are measuring the same until I start jointing them.

where I've got the outfeed set right now, it's like I need to raise it-----but, i've tried that numerous times, then they get hung up past the cutter?

has anybody had this problem?

thanks.

chris

I would recommend making all adjustments with smooth lumber. The biggest thing to watch for is snipe at the begining or end of the cut. Another thing is technic, always keep down force on the feed side only. For rough sawn lunber I would take several small cuts versus 1 large one. hope this helps.
    SSG, U.S. Army
    Retired
    K.I.S.S., R.T.F.M.

Comment

Try this and see if it helps. Lower the outfeed table enough that the workpiece will not touch it once it's past the cutter head. Next, start to joint a piece of stock until it's 6" or 8" past the cutter head. Shut off the jointer. Finally, raise the outfeed back up so that it just touches the part of the workpiece that you just ran over the cutter head.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment