X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dado blade or router?

What is better to make a dado cut? I have a router but not a dado blade. Should I get a dado or just ude the router?

Either works...it's really a matter of preference. I have both capabilities and prefer the dado blade....I think it's faster, and it definitely gives more size flexibility.

Comment

As Tom says, either works, but I am the opposite of him--I prefer the router. If you are putting a dado in largeer pieces, it is easier to hadle a router than a large piece of material on a table saw. ( Plus, I like to see what I am doing) It is really a matter of personal preference. Jim

Comment

Thanks guys. I really didn't want to fork out $100-150 for a new blade if I didn't need to at this point. I can look at this again when I get more tools that I want.

Comment

I am a novice so someone please correct me if I am wrong. The only disadvanatge making a dado with a router is that you may have to make two passes with the router. I guess this depends deep or wide the dado will be, regardless if it is plywood or hardwood.

If you have a 3hp router, you shoudd be able to do it in 1 pass.
          Last edited by dieselgg; 12-05-2006, 11:40 AM.

Comment

I can't remember exactly where I read this, but either here on the Ridgid board or somewhere I read that you can't, or aren't supposed to, use a dado blade in Europe. Does anyone know anything about that (prohibited by the EU equivalent to OSHA or what)?

Thanks,

CWS

Comment

CWS, it seems to me that I've read in the past that it is not legal to sell a table saw in Great Britain that has an arbor that is capable of mounting a dado blade. I also believe that it's also illegal to sell dado sets as well. I don't know if that's the case throughout all of Europe.
              Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment