X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Craftsman Radial Saw

I've been reading this forum for a few weeks and there seems to be a lot of knowledge available here. I'm new to woodworking, and just purchased a used 1988 vintage Craftsman Radial saw(model 113.198111) which is in pretty good condition. Paid $175 for the saw, mobile base, new melamine top and new blade. Was that a good deal? I'm also curious if all of the accessories for the Ridgid RS1000 will work with my saw. Can anybody fill me in on that one? My third and last question, for now, is if anyone could recommend a good book on radial arm saws? I've got the owner's manual, but would like to get some more detailed instruction. I've got what I consider a healthy fear for the saw, and would like to learn as much as I can.

Thanks in advance,
    Mike

A few things to do---first, check the Sears parts site---some models of the ras had a recall because of the blade guard---as I understand it, they will send you a new guard, if your model was affected.

I used to have a book on ras's, but it's long gone---anyway, check with your library---Popular Mechanics had a huge book on woodworking, with a pretty good chapter on the ras---also do a search on used book sites---for Craftsman RAS, as the best book would be one specific to your design of saw.

Finally---don't rip with it! It's just not worth the risk. I've done it--didn't like it and wouldn't do it again, now that I'm older and wiser
    Dave

Comment

Dave,