X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about the TS3650

Hi folks, I'm a newbie to woodworking. I have been looking at the TS3650 table saw from Ridgid. But, I am confused about one thing: does this saw have an externally mounted motor or internally mounted? I have read it both ways unless I misread something. This will make a huge difference in whether or not I have the room in the garage to store it. But the saw itself looks terriffic.
    Great forum, BTW; great ideas, great information.
    -- Michael McKinney, N. Texas

The 3650's motor is definitely outboard. It'd be nice to see them evolve it into a hybrid with an internal motor. The outboard motor design has very little advantage in this day and age.

Comment

I think it is an excellent saw, but it does have an externally mounted motor which adds another 10" to the depth for storage (total about 46" with the fence installed. A couple inches less if you store the fence under the saw in the provided storage clip).
      The TS2400 is a portable saw that comes with a collapsable cart/stand. It is a direct drive (blade mounted to the motor shaft), so the motor is internal. It is noisier, tho, and doesn't have the cast iron top or wings.

Hope this helps
      Go
      Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

Originally posted by LankyTexan View Post
        This will make a huge difference in whether or not I have the room in the garage to store it.
        It isn't a garage, it is a shop. The question is if the cars have room.

Comment

Thanks for the info.