X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem ripping on TS3650

I am new to this woodworking thing, but am not a complete clutz and have read quite a bit. In fact, if you count reading and ignore execution, I am a very good woodworker!

But now that I am actually DOING something, I am having a heck of a time with ripping. The far end of my cut is getting pulled away from the fence. This is no matter how much side pressure I put on the board (this is 2" oak, so I expect some resistance, but I am talking hard pusshing).

Now today, the board got so tight it acually stopped the blade. I lowered the blade and ... surprise ... surprise, the board was actually stuck on the splitter.

What the heck is going on?

Any help appreciated ... and the sooner the better... as I am working on this dang thing all weekend.

Thanks... and Happy New Years to all.

George

Sounds like a blade alignment problem George. Maybe that sounds too simple...

...Others with more knowledge than me will likely chime in.

I'll read to see what the diagnosis is...
    Stay well and play well.
    Skip

Comment

I suggest you get out your manual and redo the assembly instructions for aligning the fence, the saw blade and the blade guard/splitter. It does sound like you have some sort of alignment problem and hopefully that will fix it. One other thing, a feather board is often helpful in keeping the workpiece pressed against the fence when ripping. At time, I've used two feather boards when ripping. One to hold the wood against the fence and another mounted to the fence to hold the wood down to the table top.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

You say you lowered the blade and it was stuck on the splitter.

I interpret this to be that the kerf closed up after the piece passed the blade and is clamped around the splitter, it that correct?

If so this sounds like could be from internal stress in the board.