X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS3650 which is better thick or thin kerf blade

I don't know if this topic has been discussed before but for the TS3650 owners .... is it better to go with a thin or thick kerf blade. From what I have read I think, you will get good results from both and results will vary between blade manufacturers.

I am a novice so I just want to learn from the experience gained from others and not take a chance in buying blades, to only discard them later. Most of my cuts will be veneer plywood ... for now.

Top manufactures like Forrest and Freud suggest a TK with a motor the size of yours.

I've used lots of both full and TK blades, and both cut well if all else is equal. The TK will have a faster feedrate and noticeably less drag on the motor, so you're less likely to experience burning and premature motor burnout... it's a simple matter of physics. Theoretically, a TK will have more tendency for deflection than a full kerf, but high quality blades like Forrest, Freud's industrial, Infinity, Leitz, Dewalt's upper lines, Tenryu, and Ridge Carbide have very stiff bodies made from excellent alloys... I've never experienced deflection on the 20+ highend 10" TK's I've tried, even without a stiffener....for 12" I'd stick with a full kerf because of the larger span.

It's mainly a matter of preference, but given the manufacturers recommendations, the feedrate and motor benefits, and excellent results, I've switched to using TK's nearly exclusively, and will continue using them unless I find reason not to.

Comment

in my limited experience with a tk freud lu88 vs an fk dewalt 7657 i prefer the full kerf. i was getting blade deflection with the tk, especially on 45 degree cuts. maybe it was just me or my saw setup but since i've switched to the fk my corners meet up much nicer.

rb

Comment

Put a Forrest thin kerf on it and don't look back.

Comment