Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice on a new table saw

Hi all!

First off, this is my first post on the forums, so please, be gentle! My name is Greg, i'm a 20 year old student in sunny San Jose, California, and over the last year carpentry as a hobby has taken up practically all of my free time. Nothing wrong with that! Anyway, i'm looking to buy a quality table saw this coming summer, and feel that I could use a little...ok, a LOT of advice in choosing a good saw. So far i've looked at saws from Ridgid, Delta, General International, and Craftsman. I need it to be able to make clean cuts through plywood, hard and soft woods, hardwood veneers, veneer over ply, and just about everything else. It also needs to be mobile so that I can move it around our garage. I'm looking to spend around $1000 for saw, blade and anything else that I might need. What do you guys suggest?

if you are looking at a contractor saw i would say ridgid, hitachi, grizzly, and general inter are good ones, and with the table/bench style saws i would saw you get what you pay for but you need to be careful there to sinces some of them can get close to the 4-600 dollar mark in a hurry. i have a very old oilver table saw that i got from an aution though the school system here that i got for a song and for less then 500 i have a cabnet shop quity saw.good luck with your serch and welcome to this forum.
    9/11/01, never forget.

Comment

All the saws you mentioned are capable of making accurate cuts, as are most saws costing $500 or greater. The name of the game really becomes getting the features you like and the saw you really like best.