X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Delta 34-183 Tenoning jig for TS2412

I got the Delta 34-183 Tenoning jig for X-mas and from a previous post here I found that the mitre bar was a little bigger than the mitre slot on my Ridgid TS2412. I sanded downt the bar and it slides perfectly in my mitre slot, but...
    Going through the Delta instructions I'm supposed to unassemble the jig and move the mitre bar from right to left and alight the bar under a different set of pre-drilled holes in the jig. (It's for left tilting saw only). I did that and reassmble and aligned the jig and then I started playing with it. I was goint to try and cut an 1/8" off each side of a 3/4" thick oak board to make a 1/2" thick tenon. Having no previous experience with any tenoning jig, I did what Norm does... Poisition the jig so it cuts the 1/8" off the outside side of the board. Well the tenoning jig doesn't slide far enough away from the blade to put a 3/4" thick board in the jig and cut off only an 1/8". So I thought I'd position the jig so it's cuts on the inside of the board (between the blade and the jig). That works OK, but from watching others use a tenoning jig it doesn't appear to be the safest and best way to use the jig. Has anyone else had the same experience with this jig?

There is lots of adjustments on that thing, I had to play with mine a 1/2 day and learn it good before I even put a key in the saw to turn it on.
    Keep fiddlin, you'll get it.
    John E. Adams<br /><a href=\"http://www.woodys-workshop.com\" target=\"_blank\">www.woodys-workshop.com</a>

Comment