X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Zero clearance plate for Ridgid 3650

This may be a dumb question, but here goes. How do you make a zero clearance plate for the 3650? I am still pretty new to wood working (self-taught), so any help will really be appreciated.

I just made a few this afternoon. It's really easy. Remove your old instert and trace the outline onto a piece of 1/2" plywood. Cut it out and leave a little extra wood around it. Next, put some double sided carpet tape on the stock insert and place your new wood blank on it. Using a flush cutting bit in your router, trim it to the same size as your stock blank. Take the two pieces apart. Drill a 1/2" hole in it for your finger to be able to pull it out.
    Now, lower your saw blade all the way down and put the insert in. You'll find it won't go all the way. using a block of wood, keep the insert from flying up and turn on the saw. After the insert drops down all the way, keep the block of wood over it and raise the blade all the way up, thus finishing the slot.
    If you do a google search for making a zero clearance insert you will find videos and better worded instructions. You can put some wood screws in the bottom to help you bring it flush to the table top if you want to, but I did not bother.

I did find that the tab at the back end got in the way of the router bit. I siply routed all the way around the insert and flipped it end for end, making sure everything was flush. You can then finish off in the tab end.
    Dave

Comment

I would add that most "1/2" plywood is actually 15/32 and so your new insert will set a little low. Intead of going thru a bunch of work to include leveling screws, I just put a couple layers of duct tape on the bottom side of the ends and trimmed around the profile with a sharp knife. If its too high, pull off a layer. If too low, add one.

Go
      Practicing at practical wood working

Comment