Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just picked up a TS3650

Hey guys,

New around these parts I am a beginning woodworker (only been doing it a year) and I just picked up my first good tablesaw. I started woodworking after building a telescope and I fell in love with making things out of wood. I have had a little Craftsman contractor saw for about a year, and it was time for me to upgrade. I am about to embark on making cabinets for our kitchen (only because of pocket holes ) and I needed a good table saw to cut the carcass. After reading reviews online, and posts in this forum, I went ahead and picked up the Ridgid tablesaw. I was looking at Deltas, Grizzleys, and a new company, Steel City, but with my budget, I was not able to go to a hybrid. I found out my garage only has 15 amps fed to it so I needed something with less current draw (my Sears TS draws about 13 amps) I also wanted something more portable (i.e., rolls around the shop).

I will be purchasing a zero clearance insert here this week. I was also wondering if I should get a link belt for this saw?

Eventually I want to get the Incra TS fence system.

Jason

BTW.. this is the only hobby that my wife is enthusiastic about!
    "A long journey starts with the first step and an understanding spouse."

Hello Jason, welcome aboard!

You shouldn't need the link belt for the 3650. If you did for some reason go that route you would need to get new pulleys too, which would up the cost of the conversion a bit, and probably double it without any trouble?