Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tools, Tools, Tools, Just gotta love'em...but?

I want to start building cabinets, I am an avid woodworker, I have a the tools but want to upgrade most of them, some I don;t have period though. I have come to the conclusion I am going to buy the Ts2424, ridgid thickness planer. rockler raouter table. But I need a new router,a bandsaw period,I looked at the grizzly bandsaw 14" a liked it alot. But wahat about a good compund miter saw, I liked the Dewalt but man I hope it comes with a kiss [img]smile.gif[/img] need some help anything on these tools would be helpful, also advice on what else I might need that I over ooked, I have a list a mile long, thanks for any advice. [img]smile.gif[/img]

Get the best equipment you can afford. If you have to wait awhile to buy better, wait.
    You will never be happy with cheap equipment. That said, my priorities with equipment was:
    #1 Table saw. Do not get cheap here, even if you must wait (oops, I already said that). I have the TS 2424. Good buy.
    #2 Jointer. There are workarounds, but if you are going to be building cabinets, you need straight boards, and this is the quickest way to get there. Heard good things about the Ridgid. Mine's a Jet. Excellent.
    #3 Router. 2 1/4 hp range. Plunge. At least 11 amps, preferably more. This size is a good all-around size. Can use it handheld or with a table. I heartily recommend the Bosch 1613 EVS. See a lot of pros using it also.
    #4 Planer. If you're going to get uniform thickness boards, this is the ticket. I have gotten great service from my DeWalt 12".
    #5 Band saw. For cutting curves, resawing, making vertical cuts. I have the Ridgid 14". Like it a lot.

Keep readin the forums. The woodonline forum is very interesting: http://talk.woodmagazine.com/default...index_html___3

Good luck Bo.

a little at a time

butcherman

Comment