X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid Planer end snipe

I'm new to woodworking and borrowed dad's Ridgid 13" planer. I spend 8 hours planing wood to build kitchen cabinets. I didn't notice until I started making the raised door panel and putting them through the planer that the last 3 to 4 inches of the board is about 1/8 deeper then the rest of the board. The beginning is fine just the end. I leveled the infeed and out eed fence and no difference. Could it be the that one of the feed rollers is bad? Any suggestions what to try. Thanks, Jim

p.s. I don't know if the wood makes a difference but I'm using red oak.

Re: Ridgid Planer end snipe

I've read where some advise slightly raising up the outer edges of the infeed and outfeed tables helps to reduce snipe.

One other thing, are you only running the boards through the planer once for each side? If so, try making multiple passes taking smaller amounts off instead of one big chunk at a time.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

How long were the boards that you were running. It could be that the ends were not supported all the way through the cut letting the board "raise up" inside the planer, causing it to cut to much into the board. Make sure you have good infeed and outfeed support all the way through, especially on longer boards.

Comment

I was going to echo what dlgdoo said. I noticed the same thing happening on some long boards I was plaining. I re-set the infeed and outfeed tables (it's a Dewalt plainer) a little high at the ends, and added supports on the infeed and outfeed sides. I don't have enough roller stands, though, so I was only able to get the snipe down to the last 1" or so. It sure did make a difference, though. I only lifted the ends of the tables by a tiny bit, maybe 1/16" if that. Just enough to float the bubble on the level a tiny bit out of level flat.