X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cabinet making ?s

newbie here and just purchased the ts3650 with intentions on building kitchen cabinets for new home.Ive never built cabinets but im confident i can do it with good instructions my question is what, where ,when, and how is the best instructional material to buy for the entry level wood worker for building cabinets.
    thanks, scott

Re: cabinet making ?s

i took a class at lee valley on it. it was great - and very specific for kitchen cabinets (lowers and uppers). it was 2 days long. check it out at leevalley.com

Comment

One very good book on the subject is Illustrated Cabinetmaking by Bill Hylton, ISBN 0-7621-0183-0.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I used to live in Denver and a friend enrolled in a cabinet class at 1 of the university's there. All he had to provide was the funds for materials and the class, along with him, built the cabinets and installed them while under instruction. You might want to check out a college or another local school for a similar program.
        If at first you don't succeed, try reading the owners manual.

Comment

I too am about to embark on building cabinets for our house and purchased the TS3650 for the task. I have built a few cabinets with the help of a coworker and found that it is not as hard as one may think. I will not be taking classes, however, that sounds like a good idea what the others have suggested.

I will be doing a couple things a little different than traditional kitchen cabinet making:

1. I am going to be using pocket holes for the carcase and face frame instead of dados and dowels. Pocket holes really save time and you don't have to mess with glue (except for the doors.. and there are ways to make doors too with pocket holes!)