X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie with Ridgid Table Saw

Hi, I have the Ridgid TS3650, which I bought some time ago last year, but never got set up quite right. So far I've only used it for rough cuts because that's all it's been good for! When I cut, the edge is very rough and has these rounded marks all over it. In addition it makes a strange amount of high-pitched noise when cutting - that is, it's not a constant sound.

I've gone back and adjusted everything to make sure it's all square; it is now. I have one of those benchdog featherboards to hold the workpiece up to the fence. I press down with a push block. The blade is the original 40 tooth one which came with the saw and is sharp and appears to not have bent teeth or any skew.

Note that I'm a complete woodworking newbie. I assess a >50% chance that this is all user error. I have noticed that when I am able to push the workpiece through at a more constant rate, i.e. the beginning and end, it seems to give a better edge. But I have to move my hands in the meanwhile!

I'd really appreciate any thoughts you all can offer. I searched through the forums and didn't see any advice for this type of problem, so maybe it IS me. I've got a ton of projects I would like to do, but if this is normal, I don't think I have enough patience for 'em... help, please!

Re: Newbie with Ridgid Table Saw

jimmyswimmy, the blade on the saw is crappy, don't throw it away save it when you need to cut something not important. Go and buy a decent blade. Pretty much most saws come with a cheap blade and they always leave saw marks, so will gummed up and dull blades. There are threads in this forum on blades so do a little reading and decide from that point. I was at home depot last week and picked up the Ridgid Titanium coating 3, 60 teeth, I think I paid $49.99. Seems to be doing just fine so far.
    Great Link for a Construction Owner/Tradesmen, and just say Garager sent you....