X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How would you make this cut?

My first post and I see a number of folks from another forum here that helped me a great deal in a "contraption" I plan on building and recommended the TS3650 which I'm about to buy this weekend. I have to say that this will be my first TS and I'm totally new to woodworking.

So,the attached image is not to scale. What it is is a 2x4 that I need to cut at a 7 degree angle for a distance of 4 1/2 inches. My neighbor, who has a woodworking shop that is close to the total square footage of my house (he has EVERYTHING and more) cautions me against rip cuts. On the 'other' Forum where I started asking my newbie questions, I began by questioning whether or not I could make this cut with a dado blade. But after thinking about it, I realized that, try as I might, I couldn't get the cheek (that alsmost half inch piece at the end of the cut) to be horizontal.

Well since it's going to be done on the TS3650, thought I'd ask here.

And lastly, are there any recommendations for commercial jigs or saftey accesories that a total newbie should have?

I see some stuff here:

http://www.woodcraft.com/depts.aspx?...&FamilyID=1093

Thanks in advance -

Lance
    Attached Files
    You know, Hobbes, some days even my lucky rocketship underpants don't help.

Re: How would you make this cut?

Basically, you have a beveled lap joint.
    How many do you need to make(I assume at least two)?
    Table saw may not be your best option,too much of a possibility of kick back.
    If you do decide to use the saw, you'll need feather boards and a stop block and probably some sort of carrier or jig. Alot of work and effort to produce a simple joint. I'm not recommending you do so.

Personally, I'd do one of three things.