Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• grip tite for table saw

hi
    I am new to woodworking and using a table saw . like most I have had that wonderfull experance of kickback .while surfing the web ,I came across grip tite a magnet tool that comes with rollers that pull the wood tight to the fence which elimates kickback .the web site youtube has a video of this tool.
    my ? is has any of the members here used this tool .I need some feed back as to good or a waste of money .
    thanks and sorry if posted in wrong forum

Re: grip tite for table saw

I don't have the product you're talking about so I can't comment on it. However, you might want to read this article before you start spending money on gizmo's you may or may not need. Don't get me wrong, I'm 100% for safety in the shop and a lot of the after market stuff makes that an easier job but the best safety feature in the world is proper technique.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

thanks for the info .
      I use push sticks , and try to be very safe .the problem I run into is when ripping finished hardwood flooring (the last 1/2inch piece that fits tight to the wall),the fence is tight to the blade and being left handed puts my body out of the way of kick backs ,yet I have to watch carefully to keep the wood tight againset the fence .the grip tite claims in there video to have rollers that pull the wood tight to the fence .I keep my quard in place ,but the anti-kick back carwls have to be taped up to rip anything narrower than 1inch.

Comment

Just a quick question from a relative newbie....why would you tape up the anti-kickback pawls for thinner rips? I'm not saying you're wrong...far from it. I'm trying to ascertain the safe way to do this!!!