Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• making a round table

hi
    now as a new person to wood working ,I need some help .I tried the search and had no luck ,so sorry if this post has been beat to death.

I want to take a 4'/8' sheet of oak plywood and make a round table out of it.
    my ? is what is the best way to cut it , my plan is to place a nail in the centre attach a string pull it tight and use a small pencile to trace the circle.as my hands are not that steady free handing a cut .what do you guys do ?.
    thanks

Re: making a round table

I'm not too good with the string technique. Finally picked up a cheap tramel point set at HF, but in the past I use a wood strip. (an old wooden yardstick works great). Drill one hole and put a screw (or nail) though it for the center point. Drill another hole (or cut a small notch) just big enough for your pencil point at the radius you want. The wood won't stretch like a string, and you won't have the tendency to slant the pencil in or out as you go around.
    For cutting it out, you can screw the strip to your router base or put a small block on it to rest the outside of your jigsaw sole against and use it to guide your cut. They sell circle cutting jigs like this at Sears for the router. If you use the jig saw, a strip about as wide as the length of the jigsaw sole will make it easier to keep the saw vertical and lined up with the cut. A piece of double sided (carpet) tape will help keep the sole on the strip.

Just a couple of ideas

Go
    Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

Use your string or a stick to mark your circle. Cut it out slightly oversized with a jig saw. Use a belt sander, either handheld or table mounted, to sand down the edge to your line. You can get iron on edge banding to match your plywood to finish it off with.