Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy/ Fence question

I am new to woodworking. Last summer while painting our living room, we
    had to move a stuart sauder desk to paint the wall. Damn thing fell apart,
    and we only moved it two feet!!! Well since then I have spent a thousand plus bucks to buy the tools to build my own desk- out of WOOD. I am going to replace every piece of partical board crap that is in my house.

About a month ago I started researching table saws (to replace my jet table
    top saw). Two weeks ago, I bought the TS3650, because of this fourm, and
    the independant woodworkers reviews, and the HD website reviews on this saw. 25 - 5 star ratings without one decending opinion.

I have spent this two weeks preparing the saw to do some serious work. In
    addition I have spent a lot of time researching the safety issues. I have a
    lot of respect for this saw, and wish to keep my fingers, face, and important
    parts of mybody.

It is important to me to make every cut as strait (jointer quality) as possiable. I have tuned the saw blade and the fence to .002-.003
    parallel. A freind at work tells me that I made a mistake - that I should
    have the fence taper out to .007 to .01 to avoid kick back. I would
    appericate any advice based on the fourms experience.

Bob

Re: New guy/ Fence question

I think the fence does need to slightly pear away from the blade at the back. From what I've read, .003" difference between front of blade and rear is what's recommended. That's what I run, and it's been fine.