Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New woodworking show on PBS!

My fellow woodworkers,

I am a TV producer and have created a new woodworking show for public television called Woodworking Together. It’s the first new woodworking show to come to public television in more than 10 years and features the very first woman to host a true woodworking show, Boston-area cabinetmaker Gail O’Rourke.

Our show is geared toward woodworkers of all skill levels, with a special emphasis on beginners.

Woodworking Together will premiere nationwide on PBS stations in January of 2008.
    You can view the show’s “trailer” by clicking on the following link…

http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...51364374&hl=en

We are currently seeking corporate sponsors to help underwrite our first season on-air. If you are interested in helping to sponsor Woodworking Together, please send an email to producerboy@verizon.net.

Also, if you would like your local PBS station to carry this program, please be sure to call them and say that you want them to carry Woodworking Together from American Public Television! Local PBS station information can be found at http://www.pbs.org/stationfinder/index.html.

Happy woodworking!!!
    - Toolfreak

Re: New woodworking show on PBS!

Another woodworking show would be nice. I sure hope you plan on going into a little more detail about how to build the project of the week than you did on the trailer. I'd like to see more shows that have the emphasis on the technique used to build a project rather than the prep work. How about limiting the number of shots of the host firing a brad gun to one per show or better yet per season?

I know you didn't ask for suggestions but I'm gonna give you a couple anyway;
    1. Devote entire shows on the subject of tools found in the shop and how to safely and properly use them.
    2. A show doing side by side comparisons of the different types of finishes and how to properly apply them.