X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Box Joint on Router Table

I made a jig to make box joints on a router table, and I ran into a problem: the wood piece is terribly difficult to hold in place when the cut is made. As soon as the wood makes contact with the router bit, the wood kicks off to the side (see pic).

Is this a common problem with making box joints on a router table?

- djb
    Attached Files
    sigpic

A Democracy is 2 wolves and 1 sheep voting on what to have for lunch.

Restore the Republic.

Re: Box Joint on Router Table

OK, my very first box joint...

The first cut is really tough to make, gotta hold the piece against the pin pretty good or it moves. After the first cut the pin helps hold the piece in place. I'm using plywood to monkey around with, maybe solid wood will be easier(?)

Considering this is my first attempt, with a crude jig I whipped up, I'm reasonably satisfied.

- djb
    Attached Files
    sigpic

Restore the Republic.

Comment

Try relocating the index pin to the opposite side of the bit, that way the board will be pushed against the pin, not pushed away from it. If you look at the rotation of the bit the cutting edge is moving away from the index pin when you make contact.
      Only a surfer knows the feeling. Billabong ca. 1985 or so

Comment

Originally posted by Roadrunner View Post
        Try relocating the index pin to the opposite side of the bit...
        Right, it's a design consideration of the jig I didn't think of (bit rotation). I'm going to make a ¼" backboard for the jig sled next, and I'll put the pin on the other side of the bit on that one.
        Thanks, RR.

- djb
        sigpic

Restore the Republic.

Comment

Originally posted by djb View Post
          OK, my very first box joint...

The first cut is really tough to make, gotta hold the piece against the pin pretty good or it moves.
          - djb
          Don't hold, use clamps, it will work great.