X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boshield T-9 Use

I am just beginning wood working, and recently purchased a TS 3560. I wiped off the oil with mineral spirits, applied the Boshield, and lightly wiped off the excess. The top still seems "oily". Is that the way it is supposed to be?

Phil

Re: Boshield T-9 Use

Use a clean shop cloth and wipe again. If it is still tacky you will need to mist it lightly again and then wipe it down

Comment

I use WD40 to wipe all the factory oil until the top is completely clean. wipe it until its completely dry, then apply the T-9.

Comment

Thank you for your suggestions, I'll first try to lightly recoat, and if not, I will start over. Phil

Comment

Phil - Once the T-9 is dry, I like to overcoat it with paste wax. It increases the rust protection and reduces friction.

Comment

Ah, yes. The ol' paste wax recommendation... I have a little story about waxing my table saw top:

I first heard folks talk about waxing their table saw when I started shopping for a saw last fall. I thought they they were neurotic; or at least fanatics. It had been many [many!] years since I last owned a table saw, and it did not have a cast iron top. But when I got my new TS3650 home, I realized the wax was not just to keep the table slick. I was looking at a bare hunk of solid iron, a haven for rust. Especially in a humid place like Houston. OK, so I'll try giving my saw table a wax job. Paste wax, they say? No problem, I have several varieties out in the garage.