Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• finishing wood projects

Man this thread could be a long one.

I have a good friend who has been woodworking for over 20 years. He went to a course last week on wood finishing and said he was doing a whole lot of things backwards!

Anyone want to share some of thier finishing techniques?

Re: finishing wood projects

I've been out of [serious] woodworking for a while, so I'm no expert. But I remember using shellac. It was my Dad's finish of choice, we even used shellac to seal brick walls in the farmhouse. So a couple weeks ago I went a'shoppin' for some shellac. The guy at the hardware store told me shellac is on its way out, nobody uses it anymore...

Well, I bought some anyway, and I think I like it. Haven't made a major project with it yet, just monkeying around with it so far. But I like the look it gives the wood. And it has an interesting history.

- djb
    sigpic

A Democracy is 2 wolves and 1 sheep voting on what to have for lunch.

Restore the Republic.

Comment

Depending on the material, mostly stain and polyurathane. Been dabbling with furniture paste wax and hand rubbing it into the wood, nice and smooth.
      If at first you don't succeed, try reading the owners manual.

Comment

Oh yeah, and I used [link removed by request]this stuff [link removed by request] on a shop cabinet. I liked it, too. A pic of the finished cabinet is here.

For some reason, I don't care for varnish and polyurethane. Not sure why, maybe I'll remember later...

- djb
        Last edited by RIDGIDadmin; 09-09-2014, 08:48 AM.
        sigpic

Restore the Republic.

Comment

I've been using gel stains and oil finishes. I'm not a real fan of poly, though it's a very good choice for surfaces that'll be subject to alcoholic drinks, hot things, etc.

I want to try shellac, but I'm afraid I'd need a sprayer. I understand there's brush shellac and spray cans, too. I may try one or the other of those.