X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RS 1000 Radial Arm Saw

About a month ago I purchased a RS1000 radial arm saw.
    Here are my comments so far:
    1) Owner's manual needs some improvement.It took me nearly 6 hours to get the saw assembled. I spent most of that time trying to figure out the instructions. On the other hand, the video tape helped some, and important to me was that none of the parts were missing!
    2)The saw only had one adjustment out of alignment. That impressed me!
    3)My only negative comments are that the elevation handle is a little hard to turn (though I am glad that it's metal instead of plastic) and that the clear plastic rip indicators are rubbing and wearing out my rip scale rulers.
    4) Though I am a college instructor by trade, I also have a 200 acre farm and have been using my grandad's Rigid 1/2 and 3/4 pipe threaders and tubing cutters for the past 20 years. The dies are getting dull, but after 40 years of use, who could complain?
    5)I will be purchasing more Rigid tools in the future.

Does anyone have any comments on their experiences (either good or bad) with the RS1000 radial arm saw?
    People always ask: Who is Bigboss? He is my dad. Even though I am 40 years old, he is without a doubt STILL the big boss.........

Little B

Thanks for the comments. On the rip scale indicators you should be able to loosen the indicator itself and move it away from the scale. It there is no movement make sure the sheet metal cover is completely seated on the arm.

Jake

Comment

I too just set up my new RS1000! At six hours you are ahead of the eight hours the manual mentions it will probably take. My elevation handle is a bit stiff as well but I figure it has a little breaking in to do. Besides, if the handle turns too easily the play needs taken out of the elevation pillar. Sounds like yours is like mine which means you've got it set up properly.