X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jointer VS. Router Table Help

I have a small 1 car garage shop and am trying to economize on space wherever possible. Being a novice woodworker I'm wondering if I can get as good an edge on lumber with a straight bit on a table mounted router as I can with a dedicated jointer. I have a plan for a shaker style table that calls for the boards for the top to be jointed.
    A Benchdog ProMax cast iron table mounted on the left side of my TS3650 has really piqued my interest. If I follow this route what will I be losing by not getting the dedicated jointer? I know the other benefits of stationary routing will be a big boost to the capabilities of my small humble shop. I have to move fast while some windfall monies are still available. Any suggestions, ideas, tips will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Jointer VS. Router Table Help

I have read many articles in magazines about building a jig to route the edges of boards for jointing. I have not read anything indicating a router table to be useful for this task. I would imagine it is possible to do, but haven't tried. I have an old jointer I bought from a co-worker.
    If at first you don't succeed, try reading the owners manual.

Comment

New plywood edge and a flush trim bit will edge join, but only a jointer can face join.
      Only a surfer knows the feeling. Billabong ca. 1985 or so

Comment