X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Routing ?'s - What the books don't tell you

Still practicing with my $48.00 GMC router which actually seems to be OK. Depth adjustment seems to be right on, etc.

Anyway, I purchased a sheet of 3/4 Melamine particle board from HD that I plan on using to build an outfeed table for the 3650. Practicing with some scrap particle board (boy does that ever make dust!) cutting slots for the miter gauge.

First question is, the only way I could tell where the router would make the groove relative its postion against the AIO clamp, was to make a test cut and measure from the clamp to the near edge of the groove; which in my case using the flat side of the base up against the clamp, is 2 1/4". So now I know that if I'm using a 3/4" straight bit, I need to measure 2 1/4" in from the guide clamp.

Now since I'm new with routing I may not understand this correctly, but is this the procedure used, other than edge cuts, when using various other bits? That is to make a test cut and measure from the fence or guide as the case may be to determine where the cut's going to be?

Last question is what bit do others use to make the t-slot ( I think its 7/8) after you route the 3/4" miter slot?
    You know, Hobbes, some days even my lucky rocketship underpants don't help.

Re: Routing ?'s - What the books don't tell you

You can do the math to setup your fence relative to your dado/groove...

Or... you can make a few jigs to greatly simplify the process:
    Attach a *straight* piece of scrap material (which is long/wide enough to clamp down) to a piece of 1/4" hardboard about 3 inches wide + the width of your scrap. (It needs to be wide enough to at least reach the edge of your bit).