X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3650 to 4" DC hose?

What suggestions do you have for connecting the 3650 TS existing 2.5" dust collectin outlet to a 4" hose?
    I bought a 4" to 2.5" reducer but the 2.5 end is the same as the one on the saw. I tried duct tape but it doesn't hold for long when you move the saw around. I just got the Rigid spindle/belt sander for Christmas and will have the same problem. I do not want the additional expense of buying 2.5 inch hose and clamps to complete the connection if I can avoid it. Is there a fitting that will go from the hose directly to the 2.5 dust outlets on Rigid tools?
    Start off slow then taper off.

Buy a coupler to join two 2 1/2" hoses.

Comment

I am new at this and could be wrong but since the dust exhaust port and adapter I have are both 2-1/2 outside diameter I would think that a 2-1/2" hose to hose splicer would also be the same 2-1/2" outside diameter and therefore would not work. Am I missing something?

I just saw something called a Hose Adapter on the Rockler.com site to "Easily and securely hook up a 4" hose directly to tools with a standard 2-1/4" port. Works well with most benchtop tools." Not sure if they are talking inside or outside diameter. If they are talking inside diameter perhaps that is what I need?

Comment

"...I tried duct tape but it doesn't hold for long..."

check out the plumbing section of your local HD or Lowes and look for a 2" Fernco coupling. It should have enough flex to overcome some varience in the pipe OD and make your connection. I haven't tried this myself but don't see why it would not work.

Comment

Mpax: You are correct. I forgot I had put a short hose on my 3650 down to the floor. That is where I have the coupler to hook the DC to.

Comment

Bob D: that looks rubber coupling looks like a possible solution. I will check it out. Thanks.

Comment