What to use for cabinet

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to use for cabinet

I am new to the Ridgid forums and I am just starting to get into a little bit of woodworking, and for my first big project I was thinking of making a gun cabinet for myself.

What I was wondering is what kind of wood I should use for the walls of the cabinet. I was looking at using 3/4" plywood and staining it.

What would be the best plywood to get for a project like this?

Re: What to use for cabinet

Birch plywood would give you a nice finish and look really good. Use solid birch for the face frame and doors though.

Murph

Comment

You might also consider other cabinet grade plywoods such as walnut, cherry, maple etc. and face the cabinet with that corresponding hardwood.
      Check your yellow pages or the web for a good source of cabinet grade plywoods and hardwood lumber in your area.
      Cheers! - Jim
      -------------
      All truth passes through three stages: First it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident. - Schopenhauer

Comment

Originally posted by willow1 View Post
        I am new to the Ridgid forums and I am just starting to get into a little bit of woodworking, and for my first big project I was thinking of making a gun cabinet for myself.

What I was wondering is what kind of wood I should use for the walls of the cabinet. I was looking at using 3/4" plywood and staining it.

What would be the best plywood to get for a project like this?