Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to straighten spreader on a TS2400?

I am new to woodworking (watch a lot of New Yankee workshop, but only now has the space for some woodworking tools) and recently purchased a Ridgid TS2400 TS used but in very good condition. My first project with the TS were closet organizers for two reach-in closets in the house. I started with 1/2" birch plywood and modeled the organizers loosely after pictures I see on the advertisements I get in the mail. I'm happy with the organizers, but the ripped pieces of playwoods are skewing to the right side of the blade.

At the start of a cut, I can push the piece effortlessly into the blade. Once the piece reaches the end of the spreader further from the blade, considerable more force must be exerted to push the wood through. Toward the end of the cut, the piece has a tendency to separate from the rip fence at the end if I don't hold it firmly against the rip fence. This results in a non-square ripped piece of plywood with one end 1/16" less wide than the other end.

I've re-aligned the spreader according to the manual, but this has not solved the problem. Visual inspection of the spreader looks to me that the end further from the blade is curved toward the rip fence. Since I am new, I want to ask for the proper way to correct this problem. What should I do?

Thank you!

Re: How to straighten spreader on a TS2400?

Originally posted by vnh View Post