X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router Insert for TS3650

As this question might indicate...I'm kinda new to this. Rebuilt a good portion of stuff in my 1st house a bought a couple years ago but I'm really getting into this woodworking thing! Perhaps I should have taken up heroin....might be less addictive and less expensive!

So, I've seen all of these great router table inserts for the 3650. But, my question is how the heck to you fasten them to the rails? I looked at the 27" table from Rockler...but the instructions and pictures I saw were for rails that were more like angle iron (flat sided) rails than the crazy curves of the Rigid model and the bolts went straight through from the outside....which would interfere with the fence?!?!?!

Anyone got any pictures or suggestions on how to install?

Thanks a ton.
    -Chris

Re: Router Insert for TS3650

Hi Hef! Welcome to the forums!

To mount the angle iron to the TS rails, drill holes in the angle iron. Then, bolt them loose onto the angle iron. Run the flange end into the slot on the inside of the rails. When in place, tighten the nuts. To attach to the cast iron of the table, you can drill that and the angle iron.

I hope that helps you some. I'm sure there'll be many more suggestions. I can't remember the size of the nut that fits in the slot on the rails, but toilet flange bolts will work.
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment

I guess my main question and/or confusion is how/where to mount angle iron running down the rails??!?!?!?! Duct tape?

Comment

Wait...just found a photo that I figured it out from....I'm an idiot...I WAY over-thought that one!!!

Comment

Originally posted by VASandy View Post
          I'm sure there'll be many more suggestions. I can't remember the size of the nut that fits in the slot on the rails, but toilet flange bolts will work.